Learning to love myself After Having a Baby.

I‘ve dealt with body confidence issues for all of my life. There have been periods of time when my entire self worth was based on how much I appreciated my body and other times when I couldn’t even look at myself naked in a bathroom mirror without cringing. One of the things that I was most worried about after having leo was how I was going to perceive myself and to be honest it went pretty much as expected.

From the time Leo was born up until recently I have been dealing with a lot of self-hatred and difficulty accepting my new weight. I went from a size 12 to a size 18 which is a massive jump and the fact that I didn’t fit into the majority of my old clothes really made me feel uncomfortable going out and even just seeing people.

I was so infatuated with the weight that I had put on and the way that my body had changed I didn’t realise that it’s normal and obsessing over pounds and stretch marks is unhealthy, so the past couple of weeks I have tried massively to change my view. Instead of obsessing over my weight I am now concentrating on being healthy in general. So getting exercise and eating healthy is my new priority. I’m not going to worry about the way my body looks because as long as I treat myself well, in theory I should feel well about myself.

I dealt with my weight gain for a long time with binge eating unhealthy food which is so so unhealthy for your mental, physical health and every single thing else. I did not value myself so didn’t treat myself. Now I am making a conscious effort to home cook everything, not eat in between meals and doing exercise at home.

So I exercise by going outside everyday but I also make a conscious effort to do sit ups when Leo is in his chair as he finds that exercise the most entertaining (every time I sit up I make faces at him and he finds it hilarious). I increase the amount of sit ups I do a day by 5 and a currently on 50 a day. I find it the most motivating way to exercise consistently.

IMG_0893

This is the current weight that I am at and I feel so so happy.

Speak soon,

Hannah x

 

10 thoughts on “Learning to love myself After Having a Baby.

  1. Hi. Fantastic post and I can relate so much to what your expressing here. It’s such a weird shift in mental state isn’t it? I’m getting
    much better lately and glad that you end on such a positive note and love yourself. We have to. We’re Mummy for eff’s sake! Our love for ourselves allows us to love (if POSSIBLE ) our little munchkins even more. Thank you for popping in and following 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You look fantastically gorgeous and what’s even more fantastic is that confidence on your face. That’s all one needs in life. Thank you for sharing, a very powerful post. My sister who gave birth a year ago and then again in June this year went through the same thing. Having a child is no easy job and going through that phase where you are accepting that massive change is definitely hard but in the end it’s all about how you deal with it and turn it into something good. Good to see you are doing great. Best wishes xx

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I will say that you are quite beautiful and have a lovely body, and your beauty also shines through in your thoughts and writings ❀ I definitely know what it feels like to watch your body change and feel ashamed and disgusted with yourself… I also know exactly what it feels like to say "enough is enough" ! And to start caring for yourself. A few years ago, I went from a size 10 to a size 6 in just a couple months, through unhealthy means… And then I went from a size 6 to a size 13 in about two years! This roller coaster had a huge toll on my physical and mental health, but just recently I started trying to be healthy and love myself, without putting too much of a strain on myself. As long as you're trying, that's all that matters. Positive change will come. It's always inspiring to read other people's struggles and journeys to overcome them, so thank you for sharing xx

    -Helene, https://angelspartaness.com/

    p.s. I nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award. The post is the top and most recent on my site πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Girl, you’re killing it in these photos. I love the positivity I’m getting from your blog! Also thanks for stopping by and following mine πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

