Help! I Can’t Stop Sleep Walking.

Morning guys,

I know what you’re thinking, Clickbait? Unfortunately not, I would love for this post to be exactly that, I really would but I genuinely cannot stop sleep walking and to be honest  this is more of a cry for help than a blog post. I have never frequently sleep walked before, if ever? and to be quite real with you I never ever thought I would suffer with this weird ailment in my life.

It began like most parents the sleepless nights, getting up regularly to feed and comfort their baby. We have gone through a lot of different stages with Leo’s sleeping pattern from sleeping in his moses basket, to him developing bronchitis and co-sleeping to attempting, to get him to sleep in his cot and failing, to him finally becoming ready to sleep in his cot and now me preventing him.

Now a pretty standard night will start with Leo falling asleep at about 8:30pm and sleeping through until at least 11pm. I will always feed him and put him back in his cot and go to sleep but every single morning without fail, I will wake up to his charming little face either poking me in the eye or crawling over my head. This means I either have an extremely clever child who can get out of their cot which is 3/4 their height crawl over to our bed and climb up into our bed (not likely at all) or I’m sleep walking and just bringing him into the bed every night.

I am pretty open when I say I have no problem with co-sleeping. I understand the risk and I do everything that I can to make it as safe for him as possible. We have a huge bed guard, he sleeps away from rico and never has any of the duvet or pillows. Like I said before we co-slept from about 2-6 months so that is not my issue. My issue is that I want him to stay in a regular routine which is easy for everybody involved and to be honest I have no idea what to do and the thought of me picking him up and feeding him when I’m in a delirious state makes me completely uneasy.

I’ve tried everything I can at this stage to prevent this from happening, I’ve moved Leo’s cot into the furthest point in our room so I physically have to get up and pick him up as opposed to before when his cot was pushed next to my bed but even that didn’t work.

So what I’m trying to say if their are any mamas who have dealt with this or have even just any suggestions or tips, please can you give me some advice. I genuinely don’t know what to do at this point?

Speak soon,

Hannah x

3 thoughts on “Help! I Can’t Stop Sleep Walking.

  1. I can’t say this has ever happened to me (nor do I have advice), but I definitely experience half-asleep walking almost every night with the same result… The tiredness is real, and sometimes the only part of my brain that actually wakes up fully when my baby cries in the middle of the night is the reptilian, instinctual part of my brain 😜. I stumble to the crib and stumble back to bed with her BARELY remember what I’ve done. As long as you are safely co sleeping when this happens, I say don’t worry too much about it. But if you are really worried, maybe you could move the cot to a different room and close the door between you so you’d have to open the door?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so pleased i’m not the only person who does this and yes we’re actually going to move his crib into his room because he’s on solids now so will sleep longer at night. Thankyou so much for the reassurance x

      Like

Leave a Reply

