Rimmel London Wake Me Up Concealer First Impression and Review.

Guys,

Like so many others I am still yet to find a drugstore concealer which is my holy grail, sure at this current moment in time I can layer a couple up and after baking look pretty flawless but I want one product that I can put on in .5 on a second before I run out of the house and still look like I have had a full nights uninterrupted sleep (no luck as of yet).

IMG_1336.JPG

So my hunt begins and I have actually got quite a lot of concealers, I prefer liquid as opposed to cream or anything else so I thought that It would be a good time to try out the ‘Rimmel London Wake Me Up Concealer’. The outer packaging claims to be anti-fatigue (not sure what they mean by that), Skin brightening and be full of vitamin c.

IMG_1343.JPG

The colour that I chose was 01 Ivory, and at the price of ยฃ5.49 then I really cannot complain. Now this is from the point of view of a person with extremely sensitive eyes, so I find it extremely difficult to find mascaras, eyeliners and concealers because they all make my eyes water and bloodshot, So it may be a bit picky and unnecessary from the point of view of someone without sensitive eyes but trust me it is so valid.

IMG_1345.JPG

So as you can see this is actually the lightest colour in this collection and also still way too dark for me. I could compare the colouring to the La Girl PRO Concealer which is was so disappointed with. I just don’t understand why all light concealers have to have such a heavy undertone of orange, why can’t I just have a well priced, high coverage, yellow toned concealer which doesn’t make me want to claw my eyes out after an hour of putting it on.

So on initial application the applicator is so soft. I am so happy because I’ve previously been using the Revlon concealer and although it is a good concealer the applicator is so hard and pokey, it hurts to apply and I’m not even too mad at the colouring. Even though it is a shade too dark from my usual concealers, I do have a tan and it is brightening. It doesn’t look the same colour as my foundation (or in this case cc cream, it’s a hot day and I can’t deal).

I found that this concealer was anything but brightening, if anything it did the opposite. I put this concealer on with the L’oreal true match foundation in the lightest shade and the concealer almost looked darker than it. Even after I set my foundation with beige rimmel powder and setting my eyes with the elf translucent powder I still didn’t notice any brightening effect.

So my final conclusion is, I found that this concealer was medium coverage but didn’t give the desired brightening effect that it claimed to have. On the other hand it was nice to apply and felt really nice to wear so if you are darker than me then I’m sure it would be a really nice concealer, just not for my skin tone.

Speak soon,

Hannah x

 

 

13 thoughts on “Rimmel London Wake Me Up Concealer First Impression and Review.

    1. I’m going to try and purchase a product which lightens too dark liquid products because it’s such a pity there are so many nice formulas. but the lightest shade just happens to be dark, thankyou for reading my blog x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Too bad the colour is too dark for you! That doesn’t look “light” at all! I agree, I picked up the LA Girl Pro Conceal and the shades run really dark. I’m darker than you (NC20) and I ended up with the lightest shade – which is silly and unfair to those who are more fair!
    I’ve been curious to try this Rimmel concealer since a lot of people rave about it being brightening. I’m having second thoughts now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have really big problems with Rimmel. I just can’t say anything good about their liquid products. Their foundations oooh I had review on one of them. I just don’t love them and this looks like contouring shade. Shame :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

