Being a Multi-Tasking Mum.

When you find out you’re pregnant, I can guarantee you that one of the first things that comes into your mind will not be ‘how will I be able to ever drink a drink fast enough for it to stay hot within the next 18 years of my life’ but I can guarantee you that it should be up there.

Having a baby is a wonderful, wonderful thing and something that I would not change in a heartbeat but being able to sit down at a table with a plate and use both a knife and a fork without having a child dipping their hands into my baked beans is something I crave on an almost daily basis. Fortunately we have literally just bought Leo a high chair (Thankyou Argos clearance sale) and he seems to like it more than any bouncer that he’s ever had as he’s sitting upright and can reach all of his toys. But up until this point I have had to really, really change my way of doing pretty much everything in my life.

Between the ages of about 2 and 4 months Leo refused to be put down for more than 30 seconds at a time before wailing until he was picked up, I literally cannot tell you how many times I had to wee with a baby over my shoulder, it was a pitiful existence but here are some tips of how I made my life easier for other mummies or curious people out there.

  • As leo was napping every few hours for about half an hour or so it was my ideal time to do pretty much everything that I needed to do in my life. Unfortunately for me he is the lightest sleeper in the world so where he drops he has to stay so to make my life easier I moved my dressing table into the living room. So he would nap on the sofa and I could do my makeup with him in my immediate eyesight.
  • Baby wearing became a huge part of every single day life, it was easy to do some jobs including light cleaning, the washing up and hanging the washing up (don’t do anything including being on the floor or having to go near the floor because your knees will break and you’ll have butt for days).
  • Babies go through clingy stages, it is to be expected. They’re little and confused and just want to stay with their mums until they can crawl or distract themselves so eating with babies is pretty essential for some people. I have learned to eat with Leo on one of my knees and to move the plate as far in the opposite direction as I can so he can’t touch it. To make it even more impressive I’ve included a photo holding Leo while I was eating a plate with chopsticks. I was so proud of myself.
  • A number of my blog posts have actually been written with Leo sitting on my lap whacking the keys with similar ferocity to myself and then after I finish I have gone back and corrected all of the extra letters that he managed to put in. I don’t know why but pressing the keys really is his favourite thing to do, maybe because he sees me do it and wants to be the same but it is ever so sweet, especially when he falls asleep hitting the keys.

Remember having a baby is not about hitting milestones and making sure they are doing everything they need to, it’s about doing the best for your child and helping to nurture them to reach their personal best. If they are super independant from the get go then great, if they need conformation and cuddles for months and months amazing.

Speak soon,

Hannah x

Leave a Reply

