Babies first Injections.

When you have a child there are a number of first which are extremely exciting. There are also a number of firsts that really dread. Illness, swearwords and sleep interruptions all fall into that category but I think that the one that sticks in the minds of new mums minds the most is injections. img_0160

Usually babies have their injections at 8 weeks old but unfortunately a couple of weeks ago Leo had Bronchitis so we had to postpone them until now. Weeks upon weeks I have been dreading his immunisations and to be honest I’m already dreading him getting his next ones in a months time, they were horrific.

I think that the thing that was most upsetting was that he was in the best mood before he got them and was laughing up until the point that it was stuck in his leg. At that point he screamed and screamed and screamed. I have never heard him so upset or seen him go so red in the fact but it was heart breaking. Ricardo had to stand outside because he didn’t want to see it but I could feel my eyes filling up with tears and butterflies in my tummy as if I was the one getting three injections. img_0026

Fortunately because he missed his first nap he is now sound asleep and I think that the calpol made him drowsy but I’m looking forward to not sleeping for the next two days because I’m so paranoid about his temperature. Watch out for a bunch of posts soon.

If Leo wasn’t the happiest baby and still full of smiles I think I’d probably be a wreck right now but nothing seems to phase him.

img_0145

speak soon Hannah x

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Babies first Injections.

  1. They are awful, aren’t they? I breast fed my son so I nursed him immediately after all those early vaccinations. It seemed to help him calm down. I also gave him a dose of Tylenol right before going to the doctor’s office to help with the pain. When I was pregnant I read something that really stayed with me – To have a child is to forever have your heart walking around outside your body. It is so very true,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes they’re the worst thankfully the calpol has made him just sleepy so he’s not too bothered and that’s so accurate. I felt so much more nervous him having injections than having injections myself. It’s peculiar x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

