Story time- How We Came up With Leo’s Name.

img_0026

Hi guys,
Sorry it has been a while since I last posted but I am running off little to no sleep and the baby blues have hit me quite hard. It’s been rather hard these past couple of weeks as I have previous mental health issues and the baby blues have made me feel like I have just made a huge step backwards when I’ve made so much progress. Hopefully soon it will go and will not continue as It’s hard to go about my day to day routine. Also Leo’s developed quite bad colic that has been stressful as he has found it harder to sleep and wants to be held a lot. It’s so stressful because I know that there is nothing or hardly anything that I can do but the best that we have found that works is holding his stomach lightly or putting him over one of our shoulder and rubbing his back so there is less pressure in his stomach. He’s also constantly on the boob and has been putting on an average of 2 ounces a day which is mental. He went from 7 pounds 5 ounces to 8 pounds in 5 days so it looks like we are going to have a chunk on our hands.

I wanted to do a quick story time on how we chose Leonardo’s name which is really not a story but just a little fact. We hadn’t really chose any boys or girls names until we went for our 20 week scan where we found out that we were having a little boy. Rico had decided that we were definitely having a boy and that the 20 week scan wasn’t finding out, it was just confirming so when we found out that was when we started looking at names. We both liked different styles of names for example I liked things like Finley and Rowan and Rico hated every single thing that I stated.

One day we were talking about the teenage mutant ninja turtles and were joking about how we should buy four turtles and a rat and name them all after the turtles. Unfortunately our flt does not allow pets so I said ‘why don’t we just name our son after one.’ as a joke. Instantly Rico’s face lit up and decided that it was the best idea in the world and to start off I hated the idea but thought he was joking and went along with it. We talked about all of the different names of the turtles and Leonardo was the only one which I liked what it was shortened to.

Everyone seemed to really enjoy the name when we told them even though we didn’t tell them about the TMNT idea as we thought they wouldn’t take it seriously. He has already got nicknames as Rico’s 4 year old sister cannot say Leo so she calls him Lilo and everyone else seems to have started calling him as well so Lilo has pretty much stuck. Also me and Rico call him Pigeon because when he stretches he puffs out his chest and sticks out his bottom lip with his arms and legs completely straight and he looks like a pigeon.

One thought on “Story time- How We Came up With Leo’s Name.

Leave a Reply

