The Curse of Breastfeeding

iozrt6b5

Hi guys,

I have been considering this topic for a while and I have decided that I want to write about it. Before I start I want to tell a little story because I had the most wonderful experience yesterday. If you follow me on Instagram then you would know that Ricardo and myself love going to Wagamamas and if we go anywhere then we always get the same two dishes every time, as boring as it sounds. (veggie friends, if you haven’t been to Wagamamas before then please try the Yasai Katsu Curry because it is the most delicious thing that I have ever tried.)
When I was first given the option of whether I was going to breastfeed or bottle feed, I did not even need to think twice about it. Breastfeeding was and still is the only option that I wish to do. (This is a disclosure that I am not slating people who bottle feed at all and I have considered it at some points but breastfeeding just personally feels right for me.) There is nothing nicer than having your child solely rely on you; even though they do for everything, other people can pitch in. With Breastfeeding it is something completely between Leo and myself and it creates such a beautiful bond, as cliche as it sounds and there is nothing more wonderful than seeing how much he is thriving and growing and knowing that it is down to me.

Even though I wouldn’t change it for the world there are a number of negatives that I feel that people gloss over a lot. I debated making this blog because I felt that people wouldn’t be too pleased with writing about negatives about breastfeeding because it is such a personal and beautiful thing but at the end of the day, this blog is my personal thoughts and opinions and I have always stated that I wish to be as honest as I possibly could. So here is a list of things that I hate about breastfeeding.

  1. RIP to the nipples- A lot of people get initially put off breastfeeding because they find that it is so uncomfortable. To begin with your body makes far too much milk so that it can then work out how much your baby needs to sustain a happy ย This sounds like a wonderful thing but more often than not your baby can’t grab enough nipple so just destroys your nipple. It is toe curling pain and the worst part is you can’t even let them heal because you have to constantly feed.
  2. leaking- This is no exaggeration and I apologise if it’s too much information but nipples literally spurt milk at all of the times that you certainly do not want it t. Even though it shows that you are producing enough you don’t particularly want milk gushing down your torso while you’re doing your weekly shopping in Aldis. It has gotten to the point where I don’t wear nipple pads but tuck a folded night sanitary towel into my bra.
  3. Public Breastfeeding- I don’t particularly dislike public breastfeeding but I can understand why some people would hate it. Ricardo and myself have now made a game in which we judge whether people are obviously staring at my boobs or awkwardly trying to look away. You would be amazed at how many people uncomfortably stare, it’s rather funny.
  4. night time is your time- I am a person who will be the first to admit that I love to sleep. Even though I am a morning person, I certainly am not an evening person and at 10 o’clock ย usually am ready to sleep but unfortunately breastfeeding requires your presence every three hours and unlike bottle feeding you are entirely on your own, so even though it would be nice for your other half to wake up at 4 am to give you words of encouragement, pat you on the back and tell you what a great job you are doing the likelihood of it is they’re going to sleep.
  5. Say goodbye to wearing dresses- Breastfeeding in public can be awkward and difficult whilst initially trying to get the baby to latch. You are literally waving your boob around in public. So unfortunately dresses no longer come into the equation unless you wish to pretty much take all of your clothes off and for a country that loves to ignore anything out of the norm I feel that even that may be too much. Initially I didn’t even realise that this would be a thing but imagine my distress, an avid lover of the maxi dress when I realised that the closest I would be able to get to it for the next year would be skirts. no thankyou.

Anyway that’s my list summarised and even though it’s a pretty negative post remember I would not change breastfeeding for the world and the bond that Leonardo and myself have created is incredible.

Talk to you later

Hannah x

Leave a Reply

